The Glory of Ghibli: Grave Of The Fireflies

(This is going to be a short post.)

I’m not one to cry in movies. The last movie I cried in was Schindler’s List (1993).

I used to think that the little girl in a red sweater was the saddest thing ever.

Also, this scene.

xabnteylzwduu

But I clearly had no idea what was coming with this Ghibli wonder, because I bawled my eyes out. My head hurt, my heart hurt. I was a mess.

yhwjiaovf1acq

This is a story about two siblings who struggle against all odds during the Second World War, to take care of each other. It’s poetic, beautiful, and heart wrenchingly sad.

It’s the kind of thing that makes you want to sit and be sad about everything. It’s nothing like Spirited Away (2001), so don’t be fooled. Tread lightly here, there are torns the whole way.

(This was a short and sad post. I’m not completely over this.)

Leave a Reply

